bringing tv,s to my vacation home

dominicanlabinsky

Oct 8, 2013
what are the fees or restrictions to bring tvs in my luggage on my next flight to put in my vacation property in DR
I am a Canadian Resident.

Cdn_Gringo

Gold
Apr 29, 2014
It is a crap shoot. You may get through customs without cost, or you may not. Tourists don't bring TVs on vacation.

If customs wants to tax you, they will ask for receipts and base the amount of tax on the specified value. If you have no receipts they will consult their book of imaginary prices and assign you some amount that is usually reflective of how much money the customs person needs for Christmas this year.

It's the Christmas season, you can and should expect customs to be just a tad more vigilante on what people have in their luggage. A payday on this scale only comes around once a year.

If they deem the TVs to be "new", you'll pay more than if they they are considered "used".

You should expect to pay full pop for each TV, then be mildly thankful if you end up getting a break.

LTSteve

Gold
Jul 9, 2010
what are the fees or restrictions to bring tvs in my luggage on my next flight to put in my vacation property in DR

A few years ago I brought a 32" flat screen in a large piece of luggage. I had to take out of the box and put protective cardboard over the screen and than bubble wrap. Also brought in a 22" at the same time. Take your chances hopefully they will just wave you through. Otherwise say they are gifts for a friend.

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
I must have brought at least half a dozen TV's into the DR in my luggage. Never paid one peso. Only once did they open the bag and it was face down. I said it was a computer monitor I bought for $80 and was sent on my way.

Just take it out of the box and put some towels around the screen and you will be good to go.

PJT

Silver
Jan 8, 2002
Check with the airline first