Road Trip: Punta Cana to Santiago

Dvargas

Mar 10, 2015
Hey Guys,
I'm thinking about doing this drive this coming summer going to a PC for 3 days then renting a car and driving to my grandmothers house in Santiago. I have driven in DR before so I know the risk but I haven't been in DR since 2006 and I know a lot has changed since then.

My Questions are:

How long will the drive be: (Google says 4hrs, yeah right!)
I'm aware that GPS does exist in DR but, how well does it work?
Thinking about stopping in the capital to see the Agora mall, is it worth it or should I just keep driving?

Any feedback or tips would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!

RV429

Bronze
Apr 3, 2011
Do you fly all the way here to see a Mall? The drive, depending on traffic, is approx. 4 hours. Could be a bit more with SD traffic. Or less on Sunday Morning. GPS works.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
It should take about 4 hours, depending on traffic in the capital. Its also very straight forward. The highway starts at the traffic circle nesr Puntacana Village, the signs are clearly posted. Once on the highway its a matter of driving until you reach the capital.

In the La Romana area the interchange from the La Romana Beltway (circunvalaci?n) to the autov?a del Este feels more like going on an exit to the right. I don't know why they designed that like that instead of connecting the beltway with the highway as if it was a single higway and simply adding the exit ramps for whomever wants to enter the city of La Romana in that area. When you go from Coral Highway to the La Romana Beltway you hardly notice this because physically its all one highway. When you see this area you will know what I'm talking about.

The rest of the highway is very straight forward. The San Pedro Beltway is fully connected to the highway so you might not even notice when you are on it.