Diccionario del espa?ol dominicano (Dominican Spanish Dictionary)

How would you rate the dictionary?

• 5 - Excellent

Votes: 1 33.3%

• 3 - Good

Votes: 0 0.0%

• 1 - Could be much better.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Considering that DR1 has a well visited forum dedicated to the Spanish language, particularly Dominican Spanish; there probably are many DR1ers that have their own copy of this dictionary and might be able to give their opinions of the strengths, the weaknesses, and possibly certain words or expressions that might have been left out. With almost 800 pages and thousands of words, its not likely that a word might have been forgotten by the authors, but its much more likely that new words or expressions might first reach the authors via this thread and might incorporate them in future editions.

The dictionary focuses on words and expressions that are uniquely Dominican, whether they are local inventions or traditional Spanish (or borrowed from other languages) words that in Dominican Spanish have a completely different meaning than in 'mainstream' Spanish.

image.jpg

Aug 6, 2006
A dictionary is unlikely to help anyone with faulty grammar: that is not the purpose of a dictionary. This dictionary seeks, according to what the Diario Libre article says, to
give examples of words and phrases and their meanings that are unique to Spanish as spoken in the DR. Since I have not read this dictionary, I am unable to comment on how well it does its intended job.

Nearly every Spanish speaking country has an affiliate of the Academia Real de la Lengua Espa?ola, and defining a changing language in their particular region is of the major purposes of these affiliates.

The average Dominican is no more likely to own and use this dictionary regularly than the average American is liely to own and consult the OED regularly.

If you do not understand what the OED is, you are a typical American, by the way.

Chirimoya