Taxation on pensions

El Jefe

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
I am considering retirement in the DR. Still about 5 years off or more. Question is: I will have the following income sources

My civil service pension
US Social Security
A small 401K annuity

How would the DR treat these taxwise?

At present I plan to have a bank account in my home town to recieve these payments and then tranfer to the DR as needed.

Kuda

*** Sock-puppet ***
Jan 1, 2002
Jefe...sssshhhhh....Don't give them any ideas!

Let me preface this by saying that I am not a lawyer. Anything I say cannot be used against me in a court of law. You have a right to speak with an attorney.

My research on this subject brought me to DR1. You're gonna be taxed on that dinero in the US. DR just wants you to pop it in the bank and spend it there. So, set the funds on auto-deposit and draw them out at an ATM. If you set up an account at a bank, you can do transfers. Bring it, spend it, everything's cool.

It's when you are looking to take ownership of something or want to make investment returns that they start paying attention, and rightly so. Then you hook up with DR lawyer to help pave the way. Make a gain there, pay tax there, it's only fair.

The magic is figuring out a way to stop Uncle Sam from skimming his "take" while you are contributing to another society. I look forward to a world view policy of "if you are not taking advantages of this country's services, thou shalt not be taxed". But in the meantime, you have to get creative. U.S. incorporation, trusts, you know, the IRS rules game. Spend a little, save a lot??? Same thing on the DR side, 'cept that they speak espanol and have a completely different, but similar set of rules. You don't know the till the end. You know, the lawyer answer: "It depends."

BTW, whereabouts in CS do you live. I have a good friend in the Black Forest. And I'm a Civil Servant (Servitude...woohooo?!?) as well. Just wish it was 5 years for me. Buena Suerte.

Criss Colon

Platinum