Can Anyone Translate These Haitian Caricatures?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
And also explain the context, thanks in advance.

All caricatures presented here were published in Haitian newspapers and other Haitian media, but I don't understand kreyol.

tito_8_h.gif

caricature_union_fait_la_forcewww.jpg

caricature_secheresse_WEB.jpg

caricature_mandat_darret_aristide_PNH.jpg

2313733199.jpg

I might add a few more caricatures published in Haitian media if they catch my interest.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
pic_952.jpg

The following one is already in English because its actually a Jamaican caricature published in one of their newspapers. I thought its interesting because it deals with illegal Haitian migration to that island. A topic not discussed much on DR1, not even in this section focused on Haitians and Haiti.

ed_cartoon_sun_31_jan_w452.jpg

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
sorta -- the guy writing is saying Haitian election registrations start on Tuesday

The other guy is saying - Are we going to abide by that?

And the one with the opposition sign on his front says- "let me think about it"

(Currently there are something like 57 Presidential candidates)

google has a Haitian kreyole translator.// which --it calls "criollo" natch..

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
waiting for the real Haitian -- I mostly just speak French but get some of it... there are others, I am sure who get more..

but the one on with the drought -- the woman is saying that the people have fallen from hunger and great thirst for water.. and the politician is saying --We are busy - after the election, we will arrange everything.

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
I think another point is these cartoon characters don't look much different that the ones that people say are racist because of their portrayal of Haitians.

mofongoloco

Silver
Feb 7, 2013