Unique Dominican Names for Certain Colors

What do you call orange when speaking Spanish?

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Dominicans are the only people in the world that call the color orange mamey (ma?may) instead of anaranjado or naranja, which is the Spanish name.

The use of mamey in everyday Spanish can actually be indicative of tge assimilation of any foreigner in Dominican society.

Ironically, there is no campaign of attacking, ridiculing or criticizing Dominicans for being the only people in the world that calls orange mamey.

Mamey is also the name of a fruit that is quite popular in the country, but as with other names uniquely Dominican to refer to certain colors, no one thinks that something of mamey color is actually a mamey fruit.

When speaking Spanish, do you refer to orange as mamey?

AlterEgo

Administrator
Staff member
Jan 9, 2009
South Coast
Mr AE, born and bred in DR has never heard a Dominican say mamey for orange. When I asked him how he says orange he said anaranjado, and looked at me like I was nuts when I asked if he ever says mamey. He's wondering if it's a generational thing? Something new in the last 40 years? :)

Aug 6, 2006
A mamey is indeed orange inside and it is easier to say mamey than anaranjado (or color naranja).

Using the names of fruit (aguacate, cereza, guinda, verde lim?n) is pretty common in many Spanish-speaking countries.

a na ran ja do is FIVE SYLLABLES, and not so easy to pronounce as mamey.

malko

Campesino !! :)
Jan 12, 2013
Say naranja in my campo ( seemed logic to me- at least )...... blank stare.
Mamey is what is used.......

Feb 7, 2007
Virtually almost always use mamey. .. in the DR ... in other Spanish speaking countries they give me a weird glance when I say mamey

Aug 6, 2006