The Best Shopping Experience at Punta Cana

What's the best shopping center in B?varo-Punta Cana?

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Which shopping center in the B?varo-Punta Cana tourist district has the best selection of stores or offer the best shopping experience? What makes it better than the other shopping centers?

If 'other,' feel free to mention the shopping center and why do you think its the best one in the area.

franco1111

Bronze
May 29, 2013
Gringo
As it is now, they are more or less equal - only because Palma Real has the supermarket Plaza Lama now. Before that Palma Real was really just for tourists - many stores with expensive stuff you don't need- they did not have a super market. Plaza San Juan has similar shops upstairs, but they tend to be more practical. And they have a dentist office. (And, has that water feature at Palma Real ever had functioning water in it - makes the whole place look neglected to have something that does not work - it could certainly add to the ambiance which sure was the intention).

Plaza San Juan will clearly win out as they build more stuff around what is there now - they will have a much bigger variety of things to do and things to buy. I think it is a Jumbo they are building now. And that is a very good place to shop, better imo than Super Pola.

Don't know anything about Galerias Punta Cana. Except my friend's car gotten broken into there once. Could happen anywhere I guess.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I think Galer?as Puntacana will go the same way that The Puntacana Hotel went, which is replaced by a larger and better place owned by Grupo Puntacana in alliance with another firm that specializes in the particular business model. The Puntacana Hotel was replaced by The Westin Puntacana Resort, and Galer?as Puntacana may be replaced by the Blue Mall Puntacana currently under construction a stone throw away.