First Time Poster - New to Santo Domingo - Any Suggestions?

The Professor

Sep 22, 2015
Hello All:

Although I've lurked and read many of posts here, this is my first time actually participating. I'm from the U.S. and have started making DR my part-time home. I'm aware of many of the warnings and suggestions that you guys have given to people who are contemplating living here, but I'm curious to see what, if anything, you would suggest to me.

First, I understand the economic realities here (although I wasn't at all prepared for the food prices!) and am one of the people who is fortunate enough to be able to work remotely. Therefore, I don't have to worry about not being able to find a job. I'm living with my Dominican girlfriend in the Centro Ciudad in a decent building with backup water and power.

We moved here from Santo Domingo Este, which I absolutely hated, and seem to be in what I think would be considered a nice neighborhood here. There are many amenities in this part of town that would be familiar to anyone from the States and it seems pretty safe. I'm very street savvy, and already know how to show everyone courtesy and respect.

I do get a little frustrated with how long it can take to get things done or the lack of consistency and organization at some places, but it seems to me that this will all be minimized once I'm all set up. Currently, I'm not driving, but do plan on eventually getting a car. My girl has a car, which is enough for both of us for right now.

I'm still a little unclear about how to go about getting my Cedula and Residency card for the first time. Most of the information I see here is about people wanting to renew. It's unclear to me if I begin this process here in Santo Domingo or back in the states? I haven't overstayed any of my tourist visas since most of my trips have been 3 weeks or less.