Seeking Punta Cana Job Info

catrice02

Oct 12, 2015
Hello, I am new to dr1. I am hoping to relocate to Punta Cana or surrounding area within the next 6 months to a year. Here in the United States, I work as a birth doula and midwife in training, but I realize this is not a very welcomed profession in the DR. I am open to suggestions and ideas for employment, with the hope of still supporting women on a voluntary basis. I am hoping someone here has some ideas, suggestions and/or connections for real employment, as well as birth work. Thanks in advance!

Cdn_Gringo

Gold
Apr 29, 2014
Not a chance. Wrong country to do what you are hoping to.

You could be a bartender, maybe secure employment in a menial job at a resort or start your own operation providing some sort of service if you can figure out just what will provide you with a viable income. Other than that, not many options.

HUG

Silver
Feb 3, 2009
Try dropping Shalena (can't remember her user ID) a PM, she is heavily involved in that area of employment, although I think in Santiago. She will have more info than anyone else I'd think.

windeguy

Platinum
Jul 10, 2004
I can not recommend that anyone move to the DR if they are in need of a job here. Do you really want to try and live here making about $300 US monthly? "Real employment" will not be an easy reality for you.

You also have to become a legal resident of the DR to be employed legally. This is process that takes time and money in itself, where you must prove economic solvency, and must be started in your home country. Before you go too far down a path you will regret, verify what it would take for you to become a legal resident. It is doubtful you would qualify for residency.

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
The Dominican culture is overwhelmingly to give birth in hospitals. I know no one who has used the services of a midwife.