Safer in a barrio or in a formal neighborhood?

In what type of neighborhood do you is safer to live in?

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Through the years many expats and Dominicans have given advice regarding safety issues while living in the Dominican Republic. One recurring theme is the notion that its actually safer in the barrios as oppose to the more formal neighborhoods. The people that often make this claim lived in both types of places and, counterintuitive to what many may think, the barrios treated them and their property better than in the formal neighborhoods. By treatment I'm referring to being victim of theft/break ins/muggings.

How much truth is there regarding this issue?

Are barrios overall safer than formal neighborhoods?

Why do you think that has been the case with you?

SantiagoDR

The "REAL" SantiagoDR
Jan 12, 2006
There should be one more choice for those that feel it does not make a difference:

None of the above - Does not really make a difference

jstarebel

Silver
Oct 4, 2013
I think it depends how you live and present yourself......and who you know.

Agree wholeheartedly with this. Our home base is in a Puerto Plata Barrio, and I feel very safe there. Barrios are a bit different and have their own ways of dealing with inner barrio issues. Outsiders are not very welcome but being that I'm attached to a family, I'm accepted as a resident and not had a single issue there. Everybody knows everybody else's business.. I've been 9 years in this barrio.

jstarebel

Silver
Oct 4, 2013
I think it depends how you live and present yourself......and who you know.