Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: moving to Sousa, I'm a photographer My ultimate dream: Shoot theWomen of the DR

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Default moving to Sousa, I'm a photographer My ultimate dream: Shoot theWomen of the DR

I have been reading and watching video about the DR for 10 years now, kids grown divorced retired and ready for a new adventure to close out my life......I don't speak Spanish and know no one in THe DR, but I'm going anyway. First thing I'm do is find someone to teach me Spanish and learn the country & follow all the good advice I've read from Andy, Dave and others ...............I'm scared but excited made my flight into Punta CAna before I REALIZED it was 235 miles from Sousa flight is April 11 my plan is to get a apartment for round 300 keep my mouth shut and learn from the expats, because I'm black I figure that they will not know if i'm a gringo till I open my mouth !! where in Sousa is a good place to have coffee & meet EXpats ??

2. Likes spmc liked this post
    Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

Funny first post, and I mean that in a good way.

Forget Andy and dave. But do talk with other expats, you'll get some good guidance. In Sosua: Checkpoint bar, Rocky's, New Garden restaurant, Britania, Fraggle, jolly roger. There's more, but those are a good start.

And everybody will know you're a gringo even if you don't open your mouth. Good luck.

4. Likes waytogo, DRob, Harleysrock liked this post
    Platinum
    Post Thanks / Like

They will absolutely know you are a gringo. We have clients that make the same error by flying into Punta Cana. For you it is just a small step on a new adventure. Welcome and take some great photos. Hopefully you are fully retired and self-sufficient and do not need to work in the DR.

Good advice above on how to network with people.

6. Likes DRob, ctrob, pauleast liked this post
    Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by windeguy View Post