Advise greatly Appreciated - Credit Bureau

dimitricharalam

Jan 28, 2002
I am a Dominican living in Tampa, Fl. Recently I had a friend check my credit and I have some accounts which I have never created and where done many years ago, (my calculations show I was 8 years old). I have tried to contact the credit bureau and they say to contact the creditors. I tried to contact the creditors via email and fax over a week ago and have received no response. What is the best approach to resolve this matter, would legal action be necessary or should I resort to something else before. Any help is greatly appreciated. You can also contact me via email : dimitricharalambous@hotmail.com

Thanks
DCH Jr.

lilsam

Santo Domingo Sammy
Jan 2, 2002
File a written not verbal

protest I am not a lawyer but the companys then must respond and if not it should be removed from your credit report.I also live in Tampa area. I had a friend do it but yoiu must WRITE to all three bureas Equifax,Experin,And Trw, If you are having an issue you may actually need a local Lawyer
Ps if all else Fails talk to Eric Sydell at channel 13 (He is their consumer Lawyer)

Last edited:

Trivalent

Jan 31, 2002
DCH:

No Need to get a Lawyer, unless it really gets ugly.
Fair Credit Reporting Act puts the burden of proof on the creditor and forces the credit reporting bureau to conduct the investigation. Call each of the credit bureaus and ask for a dispute form. Fill out the form and send it in. By law they have to notify you when they receive the form and investigate the dispute.

I can't remember if the law gives them 30 or 60 days to investigate but after this time if they cannot find the creditor off it goes. Even if it is legitimate, if it is more that 7 years old it has to be taken off anyway.

Luis

dimitricharalam

Jan 28, 2002
Additional Information

My problem is with the Dominican Credit Bureas, DataCredito and Cicla. I have a problem in the DR.

Fabio J. Guzman

DR1 Expert
Jan 1, 2002