Construction Work?

Sameul11

May 16, 2016
Hello I'm new to the forum. I've been back and forth to the DR a few times and have been here a few months. I worked in construction back in the US and was wondering if there is much demand in this area (I know construction workers don't earn much here). I've been surprised at how many for sale signs there are. I mainly worked painting, but am a bit of a jack of all trades. Any advice would be appreciated.

HUG

Silver
Feb 3, 2009
You couldn't earn a living even if you had the contacts to throw bits n pieces your way. You'll earn alot more working in an call centre than you will painting peoples walls or doing odd jobs.

melphis

Living my Dream
Apr 18, 2013
A well paid construction laborer here makes between $200 - $300 US per month. That is so far below the poverty line I don't know how these guys can live.

Derfish

Gold
Jan 7, 2016
Hello I'm new to the forum. I've been back and forth to the DR a few times and have been here a few months. I worked in construction back in the US and was wondering if there is much demand in this area (I know construction workers don't earn much here). I've been surprised at how many for sale signs there are. I mainly worked painting, but am a bit of a jack of all trades. Any advice would be appreciated.

Welcome to the DR and DR1. You'd earn less in a month on construction than you can in a day back in Florida. So work there for 6 months and come play here for 3 or 4 and go back and hit it again on the mainland!
Der Fish

May 29, 2006
I think we pay our handyman 500 pesos a day plus a meal. That's good pay. The Haitians work for maybe half that?

Mauricio

Gold
Nov 18, 2002