Successful HDTV Antennas in Santiago/La Vega areas?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Has anyone tried an HDTV Antenna in the Santiago/La Vega areas?

How many HD channels does it actually picks up?

I'm talking about an antenna as this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BN5Z2WM

I have a feeling this type of antenna might not work as well in the Santiago/La Vega areas (or anywhere in the DR for that matter), but I could be wrong.

Quick review of the 35 mile (56 km) long range version (there's a 50 mile -80 km- long range version too and perhaps other more powerful antennas).

[video=youtube;0fEQOTkUeRs]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fEQOTkUeRs[/video]

These antennas could make a nice gift for some people, but first they need to work. lol

SantiagoDR

The "REAL" SantiagoDR
Jan 12, 2006
First "Fake News", and then there?s "Fake HD Antenna".

Don?t waste your money, there is no such thing as a HD antenna, it?s a sales ploy.

HD channels are in the same frequency range as regular TV channels.
Any antenna that works on regular TV also works on HD TV channels.

Years ago, my son paid over a $100 for a "special" HD antenna. He was having trouble hooking it up and asked me to help. While he was at the TV end, I was on the roof. He told me to stop moving the antenna, it was getting great reception. I told him to come outside and check it out. I had connected a piece of wire to the antenna cable, not the $100+ antenna.

I made my point with him.

He promptly returned the $100+ antenna to Radio Shack.

Aug 6, 2006
Youtube describes how to make an HDTV antenna with salvaged wire coathangers and several pieces of wood.
Te design is probably better than rabbit ears.
Is anyone BROADCASTING in HDTV format? I have not heard of this.

LTSteve

Gold
Jul 9, 2010
Has anyone tried an HDTV Antenna in the Santiago/La Vega areas?

How many HD channels does it actually picks up?

I'm talking about an antenna as this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BN5Z2WM