Common law wife...

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
Received a question via email, sounded kind of interesting, so decided to post it here and maybe Fabio can comment as I feel this could possibly effect one or two people here.

Question:

If a girlfriend has been living in your house for more than six months, what rights does she have under Dominican law if you split up? Is she assumed to be your common law wife?
What proof does she need to substantiate her claim of living with you?

Is the time accessed on a pro-rata basis? Meaning, is she entitled to anything if she has only been living with you for 3 months?

I'm a legal resident and have been told that the law has recently changed in the Dominican Republic supporting the rights of live in girlfriends.

El Jefe

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
How about a live in Domincan guy??

We see Cheryl W. talking about living with her Dominican boyfriend...what would be his rights or hers in the same situation??

Fabio J. Guzman

DR1 Expert
Jan 1, 2002
www.drlawyer.com
There is no such thing as a "common law" wife in the Dominican Republic. Living together with a woman is never equivalent to a normal marriage.