Conde Nast Traveler Best in the World 2017 (DR)

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Well, well... I have on my hands the November 2017 edition of Conde Nast Traveler magazine. This issue has its annual Best in the World ranking.

This is how the DR faired. Of all the categories, only in 'Resorts' was the DR put on the map.

Resorts
Caribbean Islands (Top 60)
11. Sanctuary Cap Cana (97.3)
18. Casa de Campo (95.98)
27. Iberostar Grand Hotel Bávaro (94.74)
41. Barceló Bávaro Palace (92.52)
50. Tortuga Bay (89.19)​

Its important to note that Tortuga Bay surpassed The Ritz-Carlton St Thomas and The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman; while Iberostar Grand Hotel Bávaro surpassed those as well as Four Seasons Anguilla and Four Seasons Nevis, plus the St Regis Bahia Resort in Puerto Rico. I mention this because Ritz-Carlton, Four Seasons, and St Regis are very prestigious hotel brands, considered to be among the creme-de-la-creme within the hotel world. Iberostar shocked me the most! Obviously Casa de Campo and Sanctuary surpassed all those very luxurious hotels too, but again I wasn't expecting Iberostar to rank above any of these. Also notice that the Barceló Bávaro Palace also surpassed the Ritz-Carlton St Thomas and The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman. Unbelievable! lol

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Forgot the image.

Conde_Nast2017.jpg

Caonabo

LIFE IS GOOD
Sep 27, 2017
Unfortunately for some, due to the storms of this past season, I would believe the RD resorts just may be rated a fair bit higher on the Conde scale as of now, for this point in time.

Kipling333

Bronze
Jan 12, 2010
All these lists are fairy tales ..if you looked at the advertising in the magazines with the lists you would normally see an unhealthy correlation ...If you actually visited these places you would see that the overwhelming style is glossy and pretentiousness.