Puerto Plata Historic Center: Kill Three Birds with One Flame

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Apparently 3 historic houses in the Historic Center of Puerto Plata went up in flames.

According to rumors, some Haitians lived in one of the abandoned houses and had a cooking accident. Investigations are still inconclusive.

[video=youtube;0WQb2XAS7mE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WQb2XAS7mE[/video]

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
[video=youtube;lPvMLZBsqxo]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPvMLZBsqxo[/video]

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I really like those beautiful old wooden houses. Such a sad sight.

I hope Ministerio de Turismo rebuilds them, even if its for touristic purposes. They have done that. Near the central park by the Catedral San Felipe they built a new house in the Victorian style when before I think there was a parking lot and it looks beautiful. It doesn't matter if its new, the Victorian ambiance need to be protected and enhanced in such historic districts.

[video=youtube;KkuBgxuvX3k]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkuBgxuvX3k[/video]

CristoRey

Welcome To Wonderland
Apr 1, 2014
Round them up, send them home. No need
to repeat this episode a second, third, forth
or fifth time.

chico bill

Dogs Better than People
May 6, 2016
Round them up, send them home. No need
to repeat this episode a second, third, forth
or fifth time.

I would agree with that if they entered and were remaining in DR illegally, but many Haitians are legal, and many of Haitian heritage were born here, are legal and are Dominicans, maybe slightly darker.

I don't know the details of this fire but since there were "reports" that a 'possible cooking accident' was to blame do we just immediately assume some illegals are to blame because they are an easy scapegoat ?

Cristo I would think that someone who uses the moniker "Christ King "
would be a little more benevolent.