Dominican Feminists vs European/N. American Feminists

Is there a difference between Dominican feminists and Euro/N.American feminists?

• MEN: Yes, its like night and day.

Votes: 6 66.7%
  • MEN: There is some difference, but...

Votes: 1 11.1%
  • MEN: Its all the same.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • WOMEN: Yes, Dominican feminists have a different approach than Euro/NAmerican feminists.

• WOMEN: The difference is due to culture, but in essence its the same.

• WOMEN: There’s no difference.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I always noticed a difference between the feminism movement that takes place in Europe or North America with the one taking place in the DR. There seems to be a deep seated anger in many of the leading feminists in Europe/N. America, a deep rooted hatred towards men. Dominican feminism appears to not be based on bitterness and revenge, but rather dignifying women while still keeping many feminine aspects that makes a woman a woman. 

Here is the current head of the Department of Women Issues (Ministerio de la Mujer) in the Dominican government.

A perfect example (of many) of what I’m saying arises when she’s asked if the problem with mistreatment of women is due to the machismo culture. She responds that its not only the men that are the problem, the women are too. She implies that in order for the treatment of women to improve in a society, both men and women need to be made aware of how each can work to make life less violent and more decent.

I think the same question in Europe or N. America would receive a response in essence blaming men for everything.

[video=youtube;_gfH4NkVmcc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gfH4NkVmcc[/video]