What can you tell me about the IT (Computer) industry in DR?

E

eye4photography

I'm a consultant in the states and I'm looking to move to DR in the next couple of years.

My first order of business is how to make a living there. I've found references to a CyberPark in Santo Domingo that is soliciting foreign interests in IT.

I have some ideas that I've shopped in other caribean markets that might work in DR but I need to know who / where to start.

Also, what is of interest there to the commercial market? Currently I do security consulting which as you can imagine in the US is a hot comodity. What kind of skills would be valuable in DR?

Thanks in advance!

-eye-

FireGuy

Rest in peace Amigo!
Aug 21, 2002
www.polaris-fs.com
Hi eye4photography,

Greetings from Atlantic Canada.

I know, by e-mail only, a young guy (25) in Santiago who is a "systems engineer" "in charge of the company computer department" in a packaging company. He is originally from a small North Coast town and went to university and got a job in his field in Santiago. If you think it might help you to correspond with him to get a feel for the DR market just send me an e-mail and I will send you his e-mail address. I think he is on vacation next week but he should be back to work the week of the 24th.

Best regards,

Gregg

Chris

Gold
Oct 21, 2002
www.caribbetech.com
I don't think you can call it an industry as we are used to in the US or Europe or so. A good idea would be to do a search on this. There is some information in the archives. Also do a search on jobs in the DR. You should get a lot of information.

E

eye4photography

I've done some searching through the archives but haven't found too much that really talks to the interests in people with IT skills.

What I'd like to get a handle on is a business directory for the major cities (i.e. Santo Domingo, Santiago) and start by contacting any hiring managers for larger commercial firms (i.e. banks, investment firms, medical, etc.).