The overall effect of remittance monies to the DR from family members abroad

Larry

Gold
Mar 22, 2002
There is an article in todays New York Times titled, "With fewer dollars going around, more are going around the world". I had trouble posting the link but it is available through their website in the "New York Region" section.The article explains how despite the geo-economic downturn we have experienced in recent years, more and more money is being remitted from the USA to family members in other countries (the dominican republic was mentioned). Seems only logical that with the weakening of the peso, families that are recieving dollars periodically from abroad should be able to significantly increase their standard of living. With so many Dominicans in New York and elsewhere sending money, I wonder what true and lasting effects this has on the overall economy in the DR. Your thoughts?

Larry

Last edited:
Apr 26, 2002
Larry,

I have some first hand experience here. Yes, those with dollar remittances are fairing well right now - not just because it's more stable but also because they automatically adjust to the devaluation and the dollar really does buy more now in relative terms than before. However, this is tempered by the fact that the US economy is not doing so great right now either.

As for true and lasting effect, the only one I can think of is that now is a golden opportunity for those with access to dollar to exercise economic muscle against those whose only have pesos. In other words, families of Dominican Yorks now have an opportunity to increase their real net worths in the DR.

Jersey Devil

Bronze
Jul 5, 2002
Larry

Another good question.

As one who is sending dollars back to the DR, I truly
think it depends upon who is receiving the funds. In
the case of nieces and nephews it will help them continue
their education, and the net effect will be positive. In
the case of some others, it may actually harm them
because if they don't know how to spend what