Offshore companies and banking

Adrian Bye

Bronze
Jul 7, 2002
Hi guys,

I'm working through the process of doing contract work (and selling products) internationally. Much of what I will do is in the US, but a lot is not. I am an Australian citizen living in Santiago. Australia does not make any tax claims to my income since I don't live there, so for tax purposes I am a Dominican resident and I have no ties to the US.

At first I was looking into putting together a Dominican company, and being paid personally by that. However I also learned I could set up a Panamanian or Nevis corporation, and just transfer money over when I need it.

I will not be doing anything locally, everything is off shore. It is very important to me that what I do is 100% legal.

Does anyone have any experience or comments with offshore corporations from the Dominican Republic?

Cheers,

Adrian

GringoCArlos

Retired Ussername
Jan 9, 2002
Sounds like it's time for you to invest in a couple of hours of a good offshore tax attorney's time, as it may be cheaper in the long run. Or, ask this in the Legal section, and maybe Sr Guzman will give some free advice to you.

Last edited:

andy a

Bronze
Feb 23, 2002
Adrianb

It has been said by some international financial experts that THE safest place in the whole world to put money is ... the USA. Unfortunately for Americans, it is also home of the feared IRS, who doesn't scare you (presumably) as a foreigner.

If you're talking about incorporating, I don't know the ramifications. Maybe another country would be better.

If you're only talking about banking, however, I don't consider anywhere in the Western hemisphere safe, except the US and Canada. As for Panama, it has often been alleged that its secret banking is only for drug money. It has also been suggested that opening those records to the IRS was the REAL reason for invading Panama, a country whose tinhorn dictator threatened nobody (sound familiar?).