Trip Report part 1

dudi_h1

May 12, 2003
Trip Report ? Dominican Republic Part 1

My name is David. I am a 27 years old student from Israel who study and live in NY. Recently I and my girlfriend came back from a short trip to the Dominican Republic, which I think must be reported in this website. Trip and adventures over the world were part of my life in the recent years. From the Far East to the deserts of Egypt including N. America, Mexico and Europe I must say that I am an experienced traveler, an experienced bag packer.

The story began with a cheap flight we found to the Dominican Republic. We decided to purchase those tickets but were very disappointed to find out that this Caribbean island is full of All Inclusive resorts and does not have any good Bag Packer scene (I could not find any information regarding the bag packers? life like camping sites, guests houses that host the typical bag packer etc.), Furthermore we had an impression of an unsafe country (Especially from the Lonely Planet book which recommended not to hitchhike and not to drive a car during the stay in DR).
The bottom line is that we were WRONG, the Dominican Republic is an AMAZING country with HONEST people that will help you whenever you need, and it has the most FASCINATING undeveloped beaches we have ever seen (Better than Thailand, even better than Mexico?). We were impressed by the kindness of the locals; they seem to be happy, patience, and kind in such high levels which I never seen before.
Please read my trip report, it will help you better understand how to get to paradise. Please e-mail me with any question to dudi_h1@hotmail.com .