Well, I found a place to live...

GirlieGirl

Jun 19, 2003
After a month of searching, I have found a place where I am satisfied with and I do not feel like I am being robbed.

I have took in everyones advice... THANK YOU... and I have finally found a 2br/2ba home w/ a pool in Casa Linda. It is $850 + elec. Some people have told me that is too expensive, but quite frankly that seems to be the going rate for a gated community with a pool. I have contacted a dozen realtors, saw 12 houses and I like this one the best.

I still have a few people (thanks to XR and some others on this board) that are looking at other properties... one person has something for me in Cabarete for a little less, but it only has one bath and no pool :( they are trying to arrange a visit for me .. so it is not in stone, I am still exploring opportunities, BUT I have at least found one I am happy with.

This one only has a stove top, which is upsetting... because I am a big cook... and I was hoping to invite many of you over for my Lasagna or London Broil... and without an oven I do not think I am going to be able to. Unless JanH hurries up back from Kentucky so her and I can hit Santiago for something that will do the trick.

This house does not have a/c... but my father in law is an a/c man... so it is just a matter of time before the unit is installed... so I am not worried about that.

Other than that... I am perfectly happy with it. I will be renting from a private individual, so I am not fearing Casa Lindas management too much... the lease will be looked over by my lawyer (thanks BushBaby) with a fine tooth comb... and hopefully I will be very happy.

Now all I have to buy is my washing machine and my grill... and then I am good to go :) And to think... I came from lil ol washington dc.. who woulda thought???

Thank you all

GirlieGirl

ecarignan

Jan 9, 2003
www.commtech.ca