Drivers Licence

Americano

Aug 2, 2003
www.dominicanvilla.com
Hi, I am a resident of DR. Where do I go to get a drivers licence and what are the costs involved? Is there a test? (I imagine if there was it would consider how well you can drive on the wrong side of the road with your hi-beams on while running a red light?!?)

I live on the North Coast so I would need the closest office.

Thanks!

Americano

Aug 2, 2003
www.dominicanvilla.com
Ouch! :(

I just did a search about getting a licence.

After reading what is involved, all I can say, is I am not doing all that crap just to get a licence when I can just give the cops 100 pesos when they stop me.

Does anyone know someone I can just pay to go get the licence for me, without any test or the other BS? I am too busy for this stuff.

Thanks!

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
I'll be nice

If you have a valid dricers license from someplace else, you go to Obras P?blicas in Santiago and take a test-they are easy- and they will issue you a Dominican license. It is a little bureaucratic but doable.

HB

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
Re: Ouch! :(

Americano said:
Does anyone know someone I can just pay to go get the licence for me, without any test or the other BS? I am too busy for this stuff.

Thanks!

Tell that to the judge after the accident you had with an expired (90 days) foreign license. The first thing they do is photo copy your entry stamp when your filling out the police report. If you don't have that, your going to jail.

Imagine being in an accident thats not your thought, someone gets hurt and you have an expired license. I hope you have lots of cash, because your going to need it to get out of that one.

Yes, I have heard of a recent situation in Santo Domingo of that happening.
"But I was just waiting at the stop light your honor!".
Medical bills for a motoconcho driver can add up real fast, especially when your a foreigner with an expired license.