La Romana,Bayahibe,Viva Dominicus Palace ? The area? Things to do?

barbchuck

Oct 14, 2003
Hello,

I am enjoying this site immensely!
I have allready learned so much about the country, what to expect etc...

My more specific questions would be,
How is the area of La Romana?
Is it upscale? If not where do we drive to see some beautiful homes? I am a builder/realtor. We love to see the Extreme homes everywhere we travel.

Is there any escape ,easily, from the touristy all inclusive resort-like activities?
We will have a car for the week.
We do plan to leave the resort and eat elsewhere and see the Country.
Can anyone suggest, hidden beautiful sites, beaches, landscapes, scenic drives?
I am a cliff jumper. Are there any safe places to JUMP off , where natives can assist me?
Are there any Bars? Pubs? Local hangouts where middle to upper class natives hang out?
Or,
Are there any Routes to take and see how the average people live and feel the hospitality of the DR, experience the culture, eat traditional foods, buy cheap beer and souveniers..?

We do not want to get sick, should we avoid eating outside of our resort? if we do get sick, are there any antibiotics we should look for to treat the bacteria in our tummies? What are the medicines called? We have had to ask the Pharmacia in Mexico, Puerto Rico and other islands for a cure...

We have allready gotten the hints from this site on how to drive carefully, be safe, avoid Putas? and Sankies?
We are aware of earthquakes, storms, certain Pests(spiders/roaches) and in general we have a good feel for what to expect.

If there are any other comments, suggestions for us, so that we may have the best possible 1 week vacation in the DR(1st time)
Please reply. Coming on November 8th.

Thank you,

Barbara

amalina

Aug 8, 2003
La Romana/Bayahibe