Woman - What to wear in Santo Domingo

smr08

Oct 5, 2003
I am sure this message board has received this several times.
What should a young lady (28) like me wear in Santo Domingo?
I really like to wear shorts and tank tops in the summer time. But as I read travel guides it is recommended not to do that since it is considered to be "loose". I don't have a lot of money to invest in summer dresses (i am a full time grad student and barely able to afford to get to DR)...any suggestions.

Also, I have alopecia (no hair) and do not wear a wig but prefer a hat/beret. Would I look REALLY crazy in HOT DR with this hat? Or should I just go with scarves/headwraps??

Thanks for any suggestions.

FireGuy

Rest in peace Amigo!
Aug 21, 2002
www.polaris-fs.com
Hi smr08,

Greetings from Atlantic Canada.

Go with Pib's suggestions - she's always well intentioned and informed. What else would you expect from a GODDESS.

One thing of which you might not be aware is that (at least I am lead to believe) certain religious buildings (cathedrals and the like) require that certain body parts (arms, shoulders, etc.) be covered when visiting. Perhaps someone who is certain or at least pretty sure of this can let you know so you will not be restricted in your visiting.

Have a great trip.

Gregg

rmary

Oct 4, 2003
When we visited Santo Domingo a few years ago, we were advised that ladies needed to cover their shoulders, and that men needed to wear long pants in the Cathedral. One very smart gentlemen wore those pants that you can unzip the legs and they turn into shorts. The other guys in the group were very envious as it was a very humid day.

smr08,