Price of Ocean Front Land

kfrancis

Jan 8, 2002
rockharddesigns.com
I am looking to buy some ocean front land for developement and am wondering what the going rates are per sq. meter, which I understand is basic pricing unit. I realize it varies from region to region but is there a " ballpark" range in $US that I can use as a benchmark for the different areas.

Any assistance is appreciated in advance.

K Francis

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
I don't think there is a ball park figure for the entire country. I checked with a realtor for North Coast and he told me the range for the greater Sosua-Cabarete area is US$40-200/sq meter. I would not use that for entire country.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Thats not a bad idea. I was thinking of buying some farm land near major towns (ie. Santo Domingo or Santiago), towns that are growing and along a coastline that is not yet developed, but will be perfect for tourism once the most idyllic and assessible areas of the country have been developed. The key to the first one is to know where are these towns actually spreading. You don't want to buy a "finca" on the south of Santiago if the developers are moving northwest, however, the south of Santiago is probably a good bet since people don't want to live near the fault line running north of the city anyways. For coastline, try the area around Miches or Sabana de la Mar and maybe even the Monte Cristi area. Those areas have some super unspoilted beaches and natural beauty that will catch the eyes of hotel developers sooner or later. When ever they do catch the eyes of the developers, it's always better if you own the piece of land. When developers want something, they will do just about anything to get it. Thats when you jack up the prices and bam, you made a very sweet deal.

Juan_Lopez

Oct 21, 2003
The current price for land outside santiago in GOOD proyectos is now 400-600 pesos per metro up 200% from last year :) this is for lots of about 1 tarea.

PJT

Silver