Dominicans and blacks

Status
Not open for further replies.

El Moreno

Nov 21, 2003
What truly makes a person dominican? I am half black and half dominican, yet i tend to participate in dominican culture more then that of "black", culture. I have caramel skin with soft , short curly hair, and thick lips

lhtown

Jan 8, 2002
My daughter is Dominican in spite of the fact that her Mommy and Daddy are American born of American born parents. She was born here and has full rights to dual citizenship or citizenship of either country she chooses when she is of age. Of course, that is only a legal definition. I think you must be getting at a more of the "street" definition.

platanomami23

Nov 25, 2003
race and politics

Hola a todos!

I agree that race, ethnicity, and identity are very complex issues without an easy definition. I'm a graduate student at Florida International University in Miami and am writing my thesis on Dominican immigrants and the identity issue. I am currently working on part of my paper concerning how racial attitudes have affected politics (especially since 1994 and the situation with Pena Gomez).

If you would be interested in completing a short survey (completely confidential) about racial and identity issues as well as some political views, I would really appreciate it. Please email me at investigaciondominicana@hotmail.com and I will send you the survey. I have already sent it to some of my Dominican friends, but I need to get as many opinions as possible. Thanks so much for your help and have a great day!

Angela

ERICKXSON

Bronze
Dec 24, 2002
www.creambay.com
Re: race and politics

platanomami23 said:
Hola a todos!