Can Dominican Women Change?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrMike

Silver
Mar 2, 2003
www.azconatechnologies.com
Modedrators: feel free to move this to whatever section is most appropriate, I'm still not too sure how this works.

I have been living in the DR for 4 years now, and I was hoping other older, wiser individuals could shed some light on this for me:

I am in the proces of seperating from my wife of 1.1 years (that's 13 months, not 11 years) and the thing that I feel makes the situation different and warrants me asking the question is that we are still very much in love.

Sure life with her has been a little annoying, (culture clashes and all) but at the end of the day it's all worth it except for one thing that I cannot get around:

I have a 10 year old son who I am only beginning to establish a relationship with, and she has been opposed to my contacting him and having him over for visits. (He lives in the US) He was conceived during a one night stand, but my wife doesn't understand that and considers him a threat, thinking there is this impending danger that I am going to leave her to marry his mother. If this was just a sneaking suspicion or a quiet dissaproval I think I could understand, but this girl has very little self control and has on many occasions expressed her frustrations and fears through violent and destructive outbursts.

Now that I have actually left her she has promised to change. She has been down on her hands and knees begging me to take her back and swears that she's ready to treat my son like he was her own flesh and blood.

Problem is, it wouldn't be the first time she's made a promise to change and then been back to the same old crap after a few short days (or hours).

She's college educated, rather intelligent, charming, beautiful etc. and I've never been happier with anyone else, but am willing to give it all up for the sake of my son. (and indeed I have - been solo for a week now)