driving from Punta Cana to Samana...

Shony

Nov 5, 2003
My beloved wife and myself will be spending 10 days in DR (3 days SD area, 2 days LA ROMANA, one day in PUNTA CANA and... another couple days in SAMANA).

How do we get (by car) from PUNTA CANA to SAMANA?
Is there a way w/o going thru SD?

Thx!

ricktoronto

Grande Pollo en Boca Chica
Jan 9, 2002
Quick answers

1. Through Sando Domingo then north via Santiago way.

2. Not really.

Shony

Nov 5, 2003
Re: Quick answers

ricktoronto said:
1. Through Sando Domingo then north via Santiago way.

2. Not really.

Honestly, I was hoping there's a way shorting the path thru Higuey->Hato Mayor->Sabana de la Mar...
...or Hato Mayor->Monte Plata->Sabana Grande de Boyo->Villa Riva

I know these are side roads (maybe in poor condition) but if they cut my trip by a couple hours it'd be worth to try.

How long is the drive thru SD? (8-9 hrs?) - considering I am a pretty good driver, used to similar (Eastern European) driving

Thx!

PJT

Silver
Jan 8, 2002
Right now there is no shorter way. The short way you envisage does not show the true picture. The side roads will not save you any time, they will cost you time or more, even for a "pretty good driver". Side roads in the D.R. are in some cases paper roads or nothing more than glorified cow paths, poorly marked if marked at all and hazardous, especially at night. The tried and true overland route from P.C. to Samana is Santo Domingo-Santiago-Puerto Plata-Samana. Of course there are other routes from S.D. that may be capable of use through Cotui or S.F. de Macoris. However, because of the recent flood disasters they may not be servicable. Best to stick to the main well traveled roads. Travel time will be 8 hours from S.D. I reckon someone who has traveled recently in the area can update road conditions. An advance welcome to the D.R. and happy motoring. Regards, PJT

Shony

Nov 5, 2003
Thanks for the info PJT!