Scottish Connections

deepaul

Feb 19, 2004
Hi all,

I'm a Scottish writer planning to visit DR in April. While I'm there I thought I'd look for some historical Scotish connections with a view to writing them up for Scottish magazines when I get back home. I would really welcome any ideas you might have.

I saw on the message board a reference to an old railroad from La Vega to Samana which was supposedly built by a Scottish engineer? Any names? Any Info? Coincidentally, Samana Bay is next to Escocesa Bay (Bay of the Scotswoman?) Is there any connection?

Over to you guys. What can you come up with?

Cheers

David

getonwithit

Mar 17, 2003
the faro de colon - the biggest lighthouse in the world (i believe) which was completed about ten years ago was actually designed for trujillo (the assassinated dictator) by a scotsman. i don't have his name to hand, but there is a lot of literature, not necessarily about him, but his winning design from books printed in the 50s and earlier.

also one of the dominican republic's more prominent families, the reid cabrals have a scottish ancestry, and in terms of generations, not that far back. i am sure if you explained what you wanted to do, they would probably love to tell about their scottish roots.

tip:
most dominicans will probably want to talk to you about whisky, and will constantly ask you which is the best one. there really are a lot (i mean a lot) of brands here. if that doesn't get on your nerves too much, maybe it would be good for you to brush up some knowledge on whiskies, because if you seem to know what you are talking about (even if pretending), they will be much more approachable.