Gold Prospecting??

sandman2570

Feb 25, 2004
I was wandering if anyone knows anything about the Gold prospecting in the Dominican Republic? I know they have a very rick Gold Mine. I belong to a gold prospecting association in the USA and am moving to the DR. Wanting to know if i should bring my pans or not?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Don't bother bringing your pans because...

Columbus scrapped the crust of this island clean of it's gold 500 years ago. However, there are gigantic quantities below the surface. In fact, the DR has the largest gold mine in the Hemisphere, and that is only tapping to less than a quarter of the estimated amount buried in this great land. By the way, there's also Marble, Amber, Larimar, Bauxite, Nickel (10% of the world's deposit), natural gas, and there are suppose to be some huge oil reserves off the coast of Azua and in the Enriquillo Basin-the Gov. spends millions searching for it with outdated machinery. They should let ExxonMobil do that job, in an instand the black gold will rise fromt the ground.

Drake

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
gold panning

I was once informed by a renouned geologist that there still exists rivers in the central mountain range that carry aluvial gold. If you are an experiened panner that you might have some luck.

Tony C

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
www.sfmreport.com
It is my understanding that all mineral rights are owned by the Dominican Gov which leases it out to Minning corps.
I know of one man back in the 80's who panned in his spare time for gold over a couple of years on his property(I am not telling you where). He then melted it down into coin size ingots and painted them silver. A few trips to Miami and voila! $145K US!