Hatuey Expelled From PRD

Apr 26, 2002
Oye Bochinche (our resident Hatuey guy),

What happens now? Is he invited back into the party after the PPH leaves office? Does he form his own party? Does he merge with the PRSC? Inquiring minds want to know.

Jane J.

ditz
Jan 3, 2002
Yes, indeed.

(And what ever happened to Felipa G?mez? Is she still locked in the PRD headquarters guarding the party's assets? Is that still the party's HQ? I never got any follow-up on that story...)

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Did Hatuey got expelled for his little speech at the cemetery?

Of course, I totally disagree with him, he was pushing for re-election to now be band again, of course since the PLD is power now. I think that the only people that should prohibit re-election are the people that made it legal again, ie. PRD. Or at least they can wait for the PLD to have a chance at re-election like Hippo did, and then we can talk about prohibiting such act.

But back to my original question, was Hatuey expelled after his speech? He cried (I think it was a fake cry) and all during that speech!

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
By the chronological order of events, this could have been Vicente Sanchez Baret's reaction to Hatuey's visit to the tomb of Jose Francisco Pe?a Gomez and his celebration of the defeat of reelection. In that speech he also addressed that he would talk to Fernandez about removing reelection from the Constitution.

As things stand at present, Hipolito Mejia is banned from running again -- the Constitution states that you have only one chance at reelection, if you fail, you are banned from running again.

Furthermore, by changing the constitution, the PPH faction of the PRD did a favor for Leonel Fernandez who now can opt for two terms. The constitutional change only allows two terms, and then that's it, like in the US.

Apr 26, 2002