Moving & Starting a Business in the DR

brian richards

Jan 2, 2004
Myself, partner & daughter are at present living in the UK. But we are planning to move to the DR next year. We holidayed in Puerto Plata, last year and loved it, we also fell in love with the people and their way of life. we are to return again in October to be married and look at renting a property to start with, as we have been given this advise. We have also been given information on schools etc. The problem is we have a budget, of around ?60,000 to play with. As this won`t last forever, we would have to find some form of income. We have also been advised to invest it and we should be able to live off the income. But thats not us, we would like to start a business of some form. This hopefully will enable us to live comfortably and give something back to the DR as well, we are not aiming to get rich. At present I work on the Railway, I am a Signals and Telecommunications Engineer, (work with the Electrics) so there`s not much call for that. I was also a very good chef for many years.We dont speak Spanish & have been told that it is very difficult to start a business. We have two ideas for a business, one is shooting, the other is poultry. We are both keen clay pigeon shooters and have been for many years, I have been shooting clays since the age of 16, I am now 42 so I would dearly love to open a clay pigeon shooting ground and offer the tourists a days Clay shooting in paradise.We have worked out a business plan and everything from security to the shoot itself, possible income, to hired help but we have been told this is more than likley to be a no no, because of the stringent gun laws in the DR. The other idea is poultry, We would like to start a chicken farm. Organic, freerange, free from steroids etc. We have a friend who is a poultry farmer, he rears on average 3000, per month. We wouldn`t aim to have as many as that of course, nearer the 1000, mark. But have been told the DR people may not