Dominican Republic: A Failed State?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Here is an essay that I wrote recently about the notion of the "Failed State" rheteric that keeps poping up once a while on DR1.com. What I would like is for most of you to read it, think about the message before posting, then tell me what you think about it.

DOMINICAN REPUBLIC​
A FAILED STATE?​

The Dominican Republic is described by many as the most wonderful paradise on earth. The palm trees, the pleasant climate, the happy and beautiful people, and the vibrant culture does makes the Dominican Republic the island paradise many dream about. Until a few years ago, this paradise was on the road to riches as if it was the "Dance of Millions" again. People the world over were optimistic about this tiny country gaining the status of "Fastest growing economy in the world" in 1997, 1998, and 1999. Unfortunately, what goes up must come down and the Dominican Republic has come down prematurely. With the current economic outlook of the country, is the Dominican Republic takig the risk of becoming a failed state?

In the year 2000, the world seemed to had partied the new millenium a bit too hard. That year being as significant as it was in itself, marked the global economy with a blow. The so called "dotcom" bubble bursted causing havoc 3,000 miles north of Santo Domingo in another island named Manhattan. Once that bubble bursted, Wall Street went into a tail spin virtually collapsing the hardest since the 1980s recession. How can something that happens on Wall Street affect the economy of Santo Domingo?