Melia caribe/tropical Anyone have any info?

guar

Jul 13, 2004
Newbie here,Melia caribe/tropical, Help !

Myself and some friend will be leaving for punta cana july 24 for a week. Will be staying at the melia. After reading/lurking :laugh: many other posts, I have really learned alot. Thanks . Just wondering if anyone has any input about the area we will be in. Is the snorkeling very good? Any kind of info would be greatly appreciated. The last island I was at was St. Thomas/St. John. Is DR comparable? Thank you all in advance. This is a great site.

Last edited:

Dolores1

DR1
May 3, 2000
www.
See http://dr1.com/directories/hotels/melia_caribe_tropical.shtml for more details on the hotel.

If you visit Punta Cana you will be in the far east part of the island. While you can see St. Thomas/St. John easily in a day, note that the Dominican Republic is a big country -- 18,000 sq miles vs. 31 sq miles for St. Thomas and 20 sq. miles for St. John. The largest hill in St. Thomas is 1,556 ft. compared to 10,000 feet for the Dominican Republic's highest mountain.
In other words, unless you do a lot of driving, you will only see a small part of the island. The trip from Punta Cana to Santo Domingo is four hours by car.
Check out http://dr1.com/travel/puntacana/ for information on your area. If you have time, venture out to see cosmopolitan Santo Domingo (the capital), or La Romana with its town, Altos de Chavon and Marina de Casa de Campo, also the beaches at Bayahibe and Dominicus (enter via the public beach between Dominicus and Iberostar hotels).

angie.k.s

May 5, 2004
guar said: