Am I Divorced?

JANET/NJ

Jun 21, 2004
undefined
Hi everyone this is my first time posting, but i've browsed thru the website a couple of times.
I think its great!
Looking today in the legal side i found Q&A about divorces in DR.
I"m a US citizen and i got married in the DR with my then boyfriend who is dominican. We went on vacation from here to visit family and ended up getting married down there.
About a year after we separated and decided to get a divorce.
We went to the Dominican Embassy in NY and got a letter to authorize a lawyer over there to divorce us; about 6 months later he sent us the "divorce paper" they state we are legally divorced, but in reading something in the divorce pages, it stated that one of the divorcing parties has to be present...neither of us were there.

Am i divorced or what?

Another question is, am i legally divorced here in NJ were i live?
I have never brought my papers to anyone here (as far as federal or state agencies)

If anyone can help me with these questions...please do. :(

soon

Jul 11, 2004
JANET/NJ said:
undefined
Hi everyone this is my first time posting, but i've browsed thru the website a couple of times.
I think its great!
Looking today in the legal side i found Q&A about divorces in DR.
I"m a US citizen and i got married in the DR with my then boyfriend who is dominican. We went on vacation from here to visit family and ended up getting married down there.
About a year after we separated and decided to get a divorce.
We went to the Dominican Embassy in NY and got a letter to authorize a lawyer over there to divorce us; about 6 months later he sent us the "divorce paper" they state we are legally divorced, but in reading something in the divorce pages, it stated that one of the divorcing parties has to be present...neither of us were there.

Am i divorced or what?

Another question is, am i legally divorced here in NJ were i live?
I have never brought my papers to anyone here (as far as federal or state agencies)