Convincing my friends that a trip to Santo Domingo is a must - can you help?

pinchy

Aug 16, 2004
From 30th Sept to 14th Oct I will be on holiday with my husband, my best friend and her boyfriend in the DR. We will be staying with my friend's dad and he lives in Romana. I would like to do a day trip to Santo Domingo as I have read wonderful things about it, however, my friend's father has told her it is a dissapointing city and not really worth visiting. Is he right? If not what can you tell me about the city to convince them we should visit? What are the best things to do and what restaurants would you recommend? Hopefully I can create a really great day that will appeal to everyone. Thanks x

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
www.sdq.com

Click on the link above and have fun!

Also good luck!

Santo Domingo is a giant Caribbean metropolis (for the Caribbean standards, it could be considered a megalopolis). There are areas of town that are not pretty at all in any sense, there are areas of towns that are quite pleasant and there are areas of town that are quite nice.

Given that the city is so big and that the Colonial Zone (where most of the historic structures and tourist hang out) is very close to the "not so nice areas" of the capital, many visitors come to Santo Domingo and dislike the "modern" part while adoring the "colonial" part. The truth is that there are many areas of SDQ that look third world as there are areas that look first world and everything in between.

Good luck and always use this phrase in an attempt to convince them to visit the city: "We will go and see how it is. After all, its not like if we are going to die or something. We will see how SDQ is with our own eyes and if we like it, that's fine and if we don't like it, that's fine also. We are travelling to see how other folks live in this world after all!"

gatoazul

Aug 24, 2004
Go to Sabana de la Mar and cross the Bahia