After All Of This, Can Haitians Be Trusted?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
A couple of nights ago, I met an American couple in the Zona Colonial who were very well educated about anything Dominican. I had such a good conversation about Dominican things, culture, etc. and I was amaze from their responses because most tourists that visit this country are not aware of the magnitude of importance that took place here 500 years ago. Most tourist only see the white sand beaches and that is it, but they don't know how crucial Hispaniola and much more importantly Santo Domingo was for the beginning development of this hemisphere as we know it today.

So, I had to ask, where they got much of their info on the DR? They mentioned a few notable books and then they showed me their travel guide which is from Lonely Planet. I had never seen this book before, and I am impressed with the depth and accuracy this travel guide captured the History of the DR, Haiti and the island before the respective independeces. As I looked through the book, I noticed a few things that made me realized once again why the DR and Haiti can never ever unite.

The following are quotes that I have taken from the book to give most of you an idea of why Dominicans and Haitians can't get along. These quotes as a whole are very self explanatory in answering the question of why Dominicans and Haitians dislike each other.

Keep in mind, words in brackets are my own to clear up a few things and to make sure people see what I see when I read this. After you are done reading, you are more than welcome to criticise my way of thinking or praise it. But, please, if you are going to criticise do it in a constructive manner and offer ways to "fix" the problem. Thank you in advance.