Nurses in the DR

daisyone

Aug 16, 2003
My husband and I are considering moving to the DR after partially retiring. I am a nurse and he is a paramedic and a police officer. I've read that police arent really well paid in the DR, but his medic status may compensate. Anyway, does anyone know about how much these professions will make? (nurse, medic, police). Thanks...Daisyone

T

TiberiusMineola

Practical Nurses - very poorly paid ! !

I'm an American who has been living in the DR for 8 years.
I've met 4 - 6 - 8 "L P Ns" [ the US designation]. Nearly all have left the profession for other, better paying work; the average compensation is @ 5,000 Pesos / month. They work hard, with much night work. They have to administer medications & give injections. The education appears to be @ 1 1/2 years, part of a specialized high school curriculum. In addition, many have to do secretarial work & collect money owed to the clinic, via the telephone in their down time.
RNs - I don't know; there don't appear to be many.
OR nurses. There are many clinics in Santo Domingo & Santiago; many perform surgery, indlucing difficlut surgeries. There appear to be many very well qualified OR nurses. How much to the earn? More than 5,000 Peses / month; how much more? I don't know.
For an American to find police work in the DR is simply not realistic, in my opinion.

gatoazul

Aug 24, 2004
None of these professions are well paid at DR

None of your professions are well paid at DR. I suggest you to come here and see if you can make your own related business before moving in definetly. At DR is easier to create a company compared to the States and Europe, as far as I know.

Good luck!!!

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
The best advice I can give you is

Stay Where You ARE!!

Do your 25-30 years, get your pensions and your Social Security or your 401s and THEN you can come here to retire and make your money serve you better.