Nuclear Power for the DR?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Toronto2inDR said:
If you ask me, Mr. Prez should stop paying millions to these generators and set up a few thousand windmills (heard GE has a sale on), invest in a whole wake of solar panels and solar heat transfer units like they use in some parts of Europe. Also set up a mandatory trade in policy for the old 2 cycle motos to trade up to 4 cycle engines?And shoot the CEO?s of the Jap companies that keep sending these bikes here when a much cleaner and no too much more expensive option is available.
I agree with much you say here, but windmills?

You know how many birds are killed yearly by windmills! On top of that, this country is filled with endangered species!

You are just asking for green peace to come and stick their noses here and put another complaint on the DR government, in addition to the constant complaint by other independent organizations about the treatment of Haitians, the pollutioning of the rivers, the blind eye given to development in fragile areas, etc.

The DR needs to build two nuclear power plants. Put them in Haiti and pay the Haitian government a royalty fee for allowing us to put them there. Those two plants would produce more than enough energy for decades to come. We can even pay Haiti for burying the wastes produced from those plants. It would be good for the DR (more clean energy) and Haiti (a new source of income), plus it will bring more jobs to that nation too.

Argo

*** Sin Bin ***
Aug 5, 2004
Nal0whs said:
I agree with much you say here, but windmills?

You know how many birds are killed yearly by windmills! On top of that, this country is filled with endangered species!