All about Villa Mella

SugarBear

Oct 4, 2004
Greetings,
Is there anyone knowledgeable of Villa Mella as far as apartment/home rental,Nightlife,and the Singles scene? If so,please provide as much info possible.

Thanks

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
It's cheap, it's "low end" part of the city.
I guess you could pick up a 2-3 bedroom apartment for RD$7-10,000 monthly.
All depends on EXACTLY what you want and what you think is a good apartment.

Why do you want to live in Villa Mella?

SugarBear

Oct 4, 2004
Robert said:
It's cheap, it's "low end" part of the city.
I guess you could pick up a 2-3 bedroom apartment for RD$7-10,000 monthly.
All depends on EXACTLY what you want and what you think is a good apartment.

Why do you want to live in Villa Mella?
The Drumming scene.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Villa Mella has a large Haitian population nowadays. As most of you know, newly arrived Haitians are known as "Kongos", but some foreign travel book writers interpret that as "Congo" the country and they say that Villa Mella is home to former slaves from the Congo.

That is incorrect, but the drumming scene is nothing more than the vodoo ceremonies of the Haitians when they decide to do their vodoo thing.

BTW, you can live in the better part of SDQ and head for Villa Mella anytime for a day there. I mean, do you really want to live there? It's very, how can I say this, poor and slum like, like real third world slum in some areas. Of course, there are some nice pockets, but still. Will you be able to get used to that?

Arturo Sanchez

Aug 22, 2004
Kongos in Villa Mella