So where do you get the best of both worlds?

Q

queenbbee

Hi,
I am planning a 2-week trip in March for myself (30 yr. woman) and (2) 13 year old daughters. No, I'm not looking for sankies (although I'm sure I'll find them, from reading this forum it sounds like they're a cultural icon) I've travelled to/lived in third world countires since I was little, and I am a freelance writer. I'm choosing DR because of the price, people, location, and it's a place I've never been. And my daughter and I are learning spanish- we've already overdone mexico. So, what I am looking for is a nice resort that's not too pricey or huge (300-500 rooms is perfect)with great swimming pool and activities, near to a town, countryside that shows the "real" DR. It's important that we get out of the resort and explore DR. I want to write a story on how the tourist industry has affected the locals. But my primary purpose is to relax and meet some great people (which I find easier at smaller resorts). Airfare into POP will save me $500-600 US over P Cana- and from what I've researched about P Cana, you get strictly tourista there. I'm looking at sousa but doesn't look like too many good resorts there (doesn't need to be AI but kids have got to have activities and I enjoy shows- good bar on site is great because since I;m not much of a drinker, I won't be bar-hopping in town, just shopping and exploring sights. Thanks for your help. This site has really helped me decide that DR is the place for our next family adventure.

BushBaby

Silver
Jan 1, 2002
www.casabush.org
Depending on your budget, it seems to me as though Coral Merien (Hilton) or Costa Dorada (Iberostar) just outside Puerto Plata might be your best bets. Good pools, beach, close to town (& easy local transportation - NOT hotel taxis) plus beach walk to Playa Dorada complex (Tourist Prices there though!!!).