Are travel qualifications any good in DR?

abba23

Sep 30, 2004
I am planning on coming over very soon to live for a while and will be looking for a job once I have got there. I have just graduated with a degree in Tourism Management for which I studied for 3 years. I also Studied Leisure & Tourism at college for 2 years before that. I also have at least 6 months work experience within the travel industry. Will these qualifications help me in finding a good job in the DR?

I also know that speaking different languages is a huge benefit. I have basic qualifications in Spanish and French. I intend to further my Spanish before I come.

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
What do you consider a good job?

Fluent Spanish is often a requirement for tourism related positions.
You will also have a lot of competition from local bilingual people with tourism degrees.

Why are you moving here?

abba23

Sep 30, 2004
I have family who moved over there a couple of years ago and we recently visited them. I loved it and would like to move over for a while at some point.

What do I consider a good job.....mmmm... not sure really. I would like a tourism related job as it is what interests me and obviously with reasonable pay. But im quite open to employment (if that makes sense?!). I don't have a clue what kind of career I want for myself and just at a crossroads in my life (im only 23). And im easy basically I just want a chilled out life with a job I enjoy which pays the bills and maybe a bit more!

Pib

Goddess
Jan 1, 2002
www.dominicancooking.com