Sources, especially for CC and Quisqueya!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Notice, 35% of a population of 8 million equals 2.8 million middle class Dominicans.
http://countrystudies.us/dominican-republic/72.htm

This report conducted by the US Embassy right here in wonderful Santo Domingo points to the DR middle class numbering at 3.8 million! This is a 2004 report on Adobe Acrobat PDF.
http://www.fas.usda.gov/gainfiles/200404/146106078.pdf

http://countrystudies.us/dominican-republic/27.htm

http://www.thirdworldtraveler.com/Caribbean/Dominican_Repub.html

This thread shows the trend of American Middle Class...
http://www.newwork.com/Pages/Opinion/Raynor/Middle Class.html

CC and Quisqueya and others, enjoy!

deelt

Bronze
Mar 23, 2004
The 2004 report you cite, written by the US Embassy, states that only 20% of the population, 1.8 million people. The report cites 57% of the population is lower class or falling below the poverty line (10%). As such, given that you have 60% of the population living in poverty that explains the many increased usage of the yolas, recently.

The upper middle class might as well be in the category of the upper class given their buying power in DR. This is also alluded to in the report thus cannot count toward those in the middle class.

Nal0whs said:
Notice, 35% of a population of 8 million equals 2.8 million middle class Dominicans.

This report conducted by the US Embassy right here in wonderful Santo Domingo points to the DR middle class numbering at 3.8 million! This is a 2004 report on Adobe Acrobat PDF.

Texas Bill

Silver
Feb 11, 2003
www.texasbill.com
The "Country Report" by the US Embassy Staff

is a very interesting, detailed study involving many factors that are still in a fluid status. While it is interesting and covers a lot of detailed information, it is not, in and of itself, a conclusive expose of all the factors impacting the DR society and economic mileau.