Puerto Plata Internet service.

A

A. Nony Mouse

I have been using Codetel on the South coast as my ISP for two years, and have watched the response time deteriorate during peak hours, but the service still worked. My concern is with Puerto Plata because I am moving there soon.

Reports from my contacts in Puerto Plata say that even Codetel admits that they have problems in that area. Congestion is unbelievable until after midnight. We have two computers in Playa Dorada and another friend has one in the Long Beach area. He was informed by Codetel that their Flashnet service (super fast) has been delayed until November due to Internet problems.

I would like to hear from someone in Puerto Plata who is using Codetel as his ISP and is satisfied with the response time. Also I would love to hear from people in the same area as to how Tricom is working for them as an ISP.

A. Nony Moose

A

Andy

Moose:

I,m not in Puerto Plata but on the NE corner in Las Galeras. We rely on microwave to Samana, then microwave again through a repeater to wherever Codetel's main receiving station is,...I assume STO DOM. I can assure you that both my regular voice line and the seperate line I have for this Computer STINKS. I can GUARANTEE that no matter what time of the day or night, I rarely can get more than 10 minutes without the signal going bye-bye. The voice part cuts in and out, with a 1 to 2 second delay and sometimes conversation is difficult. We can always tell when a lond distance call is coming in: the phone rings once, then is silent for 30 seconds or so and rings again and we pick up (to a cutting in and out conversation). We've complained for a year, the length of time we've had service here in Las Galeras.

But I guess we should be glad, because after 10 years waiting for a phone, we no longer have to rely on smoke signals!

C

Carlos Dalton