Travel Documentation - Different Question

quick2blush

Dec 30, 2004
Hi, I'm a newbie, but I have already used the search feature for this question! ;)

We're travelling from Canada (all Canadian citizens) to Punta Cana in January.

The issue we've just realized is my mom's documentation. Here's the story:

- her birth certificate has her maiden name
- all her other ID (driver's license etc) has her married name
- she's been divorced for almost 30 years and doesn't have any copies of marriage/divorce papers

She called our travel agent who suggested getting a notarized letter (verifying her identification), which she's done. Will this be enough?

I can't think of what else to do!

Thanks!

Ken

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
Q2B, I assume her drivers' license has her photo on it. I think if she has it ready, along with the other documentation giving the same name, that she should have no trouble.

Obviously her birth certificate will have a different name than her drivers' license if she has been married. If it is necessary to prove she is a Canadian citizen, this should do it. Officials don't expect the birth certificate to be in her maiden name.

I see no reason why they would ask for marriage/divorce papers, unless she is one of those people who feel compelled to talk at length about her personal situation.

If she wants to get a notarized letter saying she is the person whose name and picture is on the drivers' license, fine. But it sounds like overkill to me. Tell her to come as Mrs. so and so, if they ask about her husband, say he is dead. Nobody here is going to ask the FBI to investigate.

Enjoy your trip. Tell your mother to stop working and start packing.

quick2blush

Dec 30, 2004
Thanks for your response Ken. I was worried because everything I've seen, including the documentation page on this website, states that you must have the marriage certificate when the name on the birth certificate is different from the photo ID.