rental car vs. car and driver

ESOLteacher

Dec 14, 2004
OK, I am going to be near Samana for three weeks.

At the beginning of week three, two friends from the states will fly into SD and join me.

My options are to hire a driver from Samana to take me to meet them at the airport and return the same day.

Or maybe try to hire someone for the whole week who can drive AND go out dancing bachata with us, as sort of a sankie-guard.

Or that could backfire (where would he sleep anyway?)

Lastly, I could rent a car and drive myself - not the usual American woman driver going to and from the mall. I've been driving for 24 years and in many foreign countries - not scared.

Any feedback on feasibility of all this? Am I being stupid or unreasonable? What would YOU do in this case?

p.d. we want to spend the week in samana/las glaeras/las terenas, the parque and the beach - nature by day, bachata by night........any suggestions?

p.d.d. I am FLUENT in Spanish, and they can just get by.........

stallion

Mr. Main Event
May 28, 2004
ESOLteacher said:

At the beginning of week three, two friends from the states will fly into SD and join me.

My options are to hire a driver from Samana to take me to meet them at the airport and return the same day.

Or maybe try to hire someone for the whole week who can drive AND go out dancing bachata with us, as sort of a sankie-guard.

Lastly, I could rent a car and drive myself - not the usual American woman driver going to and from the mall. I've been driving for 24 years and in many foreign countries - not scared.

Any feedback on feasibility of all this? Am I being stupid or unreasonable? What would YOU do in this case?

p.d. we want to spend the week in samana/las glaeras/las terenas, the parque and the beach - nature by day, bachata by night........any suggestions?