Bringing my Fiance to the U.S. with me

Morenita84

Aug 22, 2004
Hi all,

This is my first time posting to this site, and I'd like some legal help. My fiance and I have been together for a little over a year. I've spent some time with him in the DR, and at this point deciding if I want to live there or if him living here is the best option for us. Since I've lived there before, I'm thinking it would be easier for both of us here, and I'm wondering how can I get him here with me in the quickest way.

I know that I need to fill out a K-1 form and turn it in, but a friend of mine told me that if I bring my tax papers and my passport that I can go to the consulate there in Santo Domingo and prove that I can support him until he finds work. With that they will either deny the claim or approve it, and allow him to travel back on my returning flight to the U.S. with me. Is this true? And if so how do I go about it?

Basically what I"m getting from this is that it's easier if I'm there and apply for him to come with me versus sending off paperwork here in the U.S.?

I'm sure this question has been answered here before, but I'd really appreciate any advice as to how I can do this with the least amount of problems.

Thank You,
R.D.

stewart

Mar 1, 2004
My experience has been that you would be better off going with him to the consulate there. However, you are basically relying on the whim of the consulate worker you deal with. Some times they are very accomodating. Other times not so much. Either way, it is better than mailing stuff to the black hole of the federal beurocracy.

lsylla01

Aug 10, 2004
Hey Morenita84, there is that possibility that your fiance may return with you through a process called called Direct Consulate Filing http://www.visajourney.com/forums/index.php?pg=dcf. Check out the link for more details. However, it's not promised but if done, it sure beats going home, filing the paper work then waiting for a long time. Hope that helps.

Nov 5, 2004