Safe to travel?

stewart

Mar 1, 2004
I need some help here.
It has been a few years since my wife and I have been to DR. We want to go this summer with our 3 young kids.
My wife is Dominican from Santiago. When she talkes to friends and family that have recently visited there, all she hears are horror stories of robberies, murders etc. Everybody tell her not to go.
I have never at any time felt unsafe there. But she is a little more nervous than I am.
What I need is to hear from people that live in the Cibao or have been there recently. Help me convince my wife that there is nothing to fear.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
You know that old saying "the only thing to fear is fear itself!"

People in general overblow everything out of proportion. The media helps in that process by overblowing their stories.

Should you be scared? -No.

Should you visit with the usual precautions you take at home? -Yes.

I'm just wondering, of all the people suggesting her to not go, how many of them have been a victim of crime while visiting the DR? I suppose its either zero or very very few of them.

Come and play, but don't play blindly. This country is safer than most countries. Is it as safe as it was a few years ago? No.

Then again, this was a country where nothing really happened, now somethings are happening and people are getting jumpy because they have never heard of stuff like this. However, I'm sure alot more crime is occuring where you guys are living than its occuring in the entire DR. Just pick up several newspapers in your areas and listen to the news of your area and then compare to what you read on Dominican sources. You'll see the difference.

The DR is still safe to live, travel, and enjoy yourself.

jrzyguy

Bronze
May 5, 2004
dont think of traveling to NYC either....cuz you will hear about the murders and robberies etc.

Travel safely and travel wisely.

easygoin

Bronze
Jan 2, 2005
eyes wide open